Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

Hampstead Heath walk

You can imagine it, can’t you.  Two friends on a walk, arriving at a fork in the road and debating which way to go, left or right.  Apparently that’s the story behind Robert Frost’s poem The Road Not Taken . Frost’s friend and walking partner, Edward Thomas, would get to the end of the walk and mutter that they should have opted for the alternative route.  In writing that poem, Frost was poking  fun at his mate.

I feel a little like that pair this morning as I write to tell you that I shall not be posting on Brixton Broads as regularly as I have in the past.

I have long imagined Earth turning off an alarm clock each weekday morning, putting on a suit and tie and saying, wearily, ‘Well, another day at the office, then’.  The result of that imagining is a new blog  called Earth at Work and, for the time being at least, I shall be concentrating my blogging energies on that.

This is by no means the end of Brixton Broads. I know Rebekahn has been plotting some tweaks to the site, so do continue to visit and look out for her posts.  And I’ll be here from time to time adding my two cents’ worth.

Thanks for reading  and commenting on my posts over the past eighteen months or so. Writing for Brixton Broads has been, and is still, tremendous fun.

Much love

Vivh

One thought on “Two roads diverged in a yellow wood

  1. Viv – it’s been such a pleasure having you here, and I’m looking forward to your popping in whenever you can. Your writing elevated the blog, your humour is unmissable and you know so much more about plants than I do – you legitimised us in the garden blogging world.

    Earth at Work is beautiful, I’m looking forward to it being one of my regular reads. And can’t wait for you to pop in for a cuppa and a rusk.

Leave a Reply

